Breaking Free

freedom

Today’s Reading Acts 11-16

There is a theme in the Book of Acts that I was not aware of until reading through it over the last few days. There are several scenes in the 1st 16 chapters of the book in which the disciples are in prison. They are there on trumped-up charges but they are there. In each case they are set free in some way by the power of God.

Freedom.

I guess it should have been obvious but I never rally had seen it that theme before until now. I have always believed that when you read the scriptures that God reveals things. This is why we can have a bible study or a sermon on the same piece of scripture in different seasons in our life and it will be completely different. The scripture hasn’t changed but we have and God is doing something new.

Freedom.

I guess this theme is something that God wants me to wrestle with today. I am a white adult male in the United States that reality means that freedom is something I should be accustomed to. So why Freedom? Why now? What has a hold on me?

Freedom.

Then I stop…and I pray. It is clear, I have been tied up with sickness over the last two months. I am filled with worry as we transition from one home to another over the next 90 days. I am wrapped up in stress as I transition appointments. I need freedom.

Freedom isn’t the end of these situations but it is an understanding that through it all I have God. the same Spirit that was present to the disciples in the prisons is present for me now. Freedom for me is knowing that I do not walk alone and I never have.

Freedom.

It is also a realization that my issues are minor. There are so many that do not have the same freedom that I do. Maybe it is because of their gender or economic status. Perhaps it is because of their race or religion. It might be their sexuality. It may be the country they live in. Freedom. God’s Spirit is present for them as well. God can break any chains and perhaps I need to use my freedom to help others find theirs as well. So we pray.

Freedom.

 

**Note***

We are in Day 27 of a 40 day read through the New Testament challenge today. The first 30 days of readings are listed below.

***End Note ***

First 30 Days of Reading
Day 1 – Ash Wednesday
Mark 1-4

Thursday Day 2 – Mark 5-8

Friday Day 3 Mark 9-12

Saturday Day 4 Mark 13-16

Sunday

 Monday Day 5 1 & 2 Thessalonians

Tuesday Day 6 Galatians

Wednesday  Day 7  Philippians & Colossians

Thursday Day 8 Philemon & Ephesians

Friday Day 9 Matthew 1-7

Saturday Day 10 Matthew 8-12

Sunday

Monday Day 11 Matthew 13-18

Tuesday Day 12 Matthew 19-24

Day 13 Wednesday Matthew 25-28

Thursday Day 14 1 Corinthians 1-9

Friday Day 15 1 Corinthians 10-16

Saturday Day 16 2 Corinthians 1-13

Sunday

Monday Day 17 Romans 1-8

Tuesday Day 18 Romans 9-16

Wednesday Day 19 Luke 1-3

Thursday Day 20 Luke 4-7

Friday Day 21 Luke 8-11

Saturday Day 22 Luke 12-16

Sunday

Monday Day 23 Luke 17-21

Tuesday Day 24 Luke 22-24

Wednesday Day 25 Acts 1-6

Thursday Day 26 Acts 7-10

Today Friday Day 27 Acts 11-16

Saturday Day 28 Acts 17-22

Sunday

Monday Day 29 Acts 23-28

Tuesday Day 30 1 & 2 Timothy and Titus

Leave a Reply

