Just missed

A1.jpg

Today’s Reading Luke 8-11

I went into the Army never having fired a weapon of any kind. Well that is not quite accurate. I once shot a rifle in the vast back yard of a high school classmate. I was petrified by the sound and the power. Other than that experience my only other experience was with a water gun.

In Basic Training, it was a frightening to me as the time for learning how to shoot a rifle drew near. One morning the drill instructor stood up and said that those of us who had never shot a weapon before would be experts by the time he was done teaching us. He told us we had no bad habits to unlearn.

I had a little boost of confidence after that talk until I went to the shooting range for the first time. I was told to go take my magazine and go over to the ammunition station and load my magazine. I felt the fear once again as I tried to load the weapon and not blow myself up.

I still remember the feeling as I was on the ground, in position, getting ready to fire my weapon for the first time. I squeezed the trigger and…I missed. I squeezed the trigger again…another miss. A pattern developed quite quickly…shooting and missing. Eventually I would learn enough to be a decent marksman but I was never the expert that my drill sergeant had promised. i would simply miss the target too much.

In many ways that hasn’t changed over the years. I know the target that I am supposed to be shooting at daily. It is the target that Jesus reminds the religious folks of in today’s reading. In a portion of that reading, Jesus says:

But woe to you Pharisees! For you pay tithe of mint and rue and every kind of garden herb, and yet disregard justice and the love of God; but these are the things you should have done without neglecting the others.

Justice and Love. Each day that should be the target but too often I miss it. I focus in on other things and let those things become priorities. I miss the target time and time again. I need to learn to aim better. Learning to aim for justice and love is about learning to see people as Jesus does. It is about loving folks even when they tick you off. It is about ensuring all God’s people are cared for. This is the target we need to aim for each day.

How is your aim?

***Note***

We are in Day 21 of a 40 day read through the New Testament challenge today. The first 30 days of readings are listed below.

***End Note ***

First 30 Days of Reading
Day 1 – Ash Wednesday
Mark 1-4

Thursday Day 2 – Mark 5-8

Friday Day 3 Mark 9-12

Saturday Day 4 Mark 13-16

Sunday

 Monday Day 5 1 & 2 Thessalonians

Tuesday Day 6 Galatians

Wednesday  Day 7  Philippians & Colossians

Thursday Day 8 Philemon & Ephesians

Friday Day 9 Matthew 1-7

Saturday Day 10 Matthew 8-12

Sunday

Monday Day 11 Matthew 13-18

Tuesday Day 12 Matthew 19-24

Day 13 Wednesday Matthew 25-28

Thursday Day 14 1 Corinthians 1-9

Friday Day 15 1 Corinthians 10-16

Saturday Day 16 2 Corinthians 1-13

Sunday

Monday Day 17 Romans 1-8

Tuesday Day 18 Romans 9-16

Wednesday Day 19 Luke 1-3

Thursday Day 20 Luke 4-7

Today Friday Day 21 Luke 8-11

Saturday Day 22 Luke 12-16

Sunday

Monday Day 23 Luke 17-21

Tuesday Day 24 Luke 22-24

Wednesday Day 25 Acts 1-6

Thursday Day 26 Acts 7-10

Friday Day 27 Acts 11-16

Saturday Day 28 Acts 17-22

Sunday

Monday Day 29 Acts 23-28

Tuesday Day 30 1 & 2 Timothy and Titus

Leave a Reply

