Little League All Star Games taught me something

venture.png

New Testament Reading Challenge Day 6

Today’s Reading Galatians

***Note***

We are in Day 6 of a 40 day read through the New Testament challenge today. The first 14 days of readings will be listed at the end of this post

***End Note ***

My final year playing Little League baseball at the end of the season we were playing an All Star game in Pennsville. We thought we had a pretty good team that year and were going to make some noise. We faced a power pitcher that day that I will never forget. He was as tall as a grown man and he was very intimidating. Early in the game I was at bat facing him and everything happened just perfectly. I connected with a pitch that seemed to be going 200 miles per hour. It cleared the right field fence and just like that we were winning 1-0.

I went back into the field and took my position at first base at the start of the next half inning. I kept thinking to myself that we were going to win 1-0 and I would be celebrated as a hero. Surrounded by all this talent on the field it would be me that everyone would talk about. Now please remember this was the musing of a 12-year-old pimply faced child. As often happens, the game did not end as I had envisioned. In fact, we got destroyed that day, I believe it was 12-1 or something like that. My hope at being a hero for my success was over.

I thought back to that story this morning as I was finishing up the reading from Galatians. The scripture today wraps up with Paul telling the Galatians that despite all that he has accomplished he should never boast on anything except that cross of Jesus Christ. It was a powerful piece of writing from Paul. The reminder to me is that no matter what happens we need to keep the main thing the main thing. I didn’t realize as a 12-year-old what that looked like. If I did, I would have known just stepping on that field with many of my friends was a reward in and of itself. I had already succeeded. Success was being together and being part of a community that to this day I still care about.

The cross of Jesus is a reminder to us of a love so powerful that it brings people together and opens the door for all to come and experience joy, peace, and that blessed community. That is real success and that is what is worth boasting about.

What does that cross mean to you?

14 Days of Reading
Day 1 – Ash Wednesday
Mark 1-4

Thursday Day 2 – Mark 5-8

Friday Day 3 Mark 9-12

Saturday Day 4 Mark 13-16

Sunday

 Monday Day 5 1 & 2 Thessalonians

Today Tuesday Day 6 Galatians

Wednesday  Day 7  Philippians & Colossians

Thursday Day 8 Philemon & Ephesians

Friday Day 9 Matthew 1-7

Saturday Day 10 Matthew 8-12

Sunday

Monday Day 11 Matthew 13-18

Tuesday Day 12 Matthew 19-24

Wednesday Matthew 25-28

Leave a Reply

