Nope

idontwant

New Testament Reading challenge Day 3

Today’s Reading Mark 9-12

***Note***

We are in Day 3 of a 40 day read through the New Testament challenge today. The first seven days of readings will be listed at the end of this post

***End Note ***

Nope. I don’t wanna.

I have a little confession and it is just between you and me. I really don’t like change. Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind the concept of change. However, the reality is that I am not real comfortable actually going through the process of change. I also have no problem telling a group of people that we need to change our ideas, actions, and beliefs. It is just that when it gets down to it that I rather it is you that does the changing.

Change is hard and can be painful at times. When I am faced with the prospect of changing, I often will delay any immediate response to the call. Yet, one has to wonder when does it become too late? This question can be haunting.

In this morning’s reading in the Gospel of Mark in Chapter 12, we see what happens when it is too late. I may not like the idea of change but the truth is that I have changing to accomplish in my life. Jesus’ parable was a push back against the religious establishment that ignored the prophets that God had sent to shine a light on the mistakes of the people. The prophets had been ignored, jailed, and often killed. In fact, death was the fate that awaited Jesus himself because of the response to his message and life.

Change is never easy short-term and we all know that but it is the only answer for us. We are in the midst of Lent and this is the perfect time to start those changes needed. Spend a little more time in prayer and reading the Bible. Give an hour or so a week to a project in the community that focuses in on make things better for everyone.

Don’t be afraid of the change God wants you to make, embrace it. Are you ready?

Day 1 – Ash Wednesday
Mark 1-4

Thursday Day 2 – Mark 5-8

Today Friday Day 3 Mark 9-12

Saturday Day 4 Mark 13-16

Sunday

Monday Day 5 1 & 2 Thessalonians

Tuesday Day 6 Galatians

Wednesday Day 7 Philippians & Colossians

Leave a Reply

