Do you smell that?

coffee

Exodus Reading Challenge Day 30

I know you can’t smell it but trust me it is wonderful. There is something special about the smell of coffee in the morning that gets me excited for the day. the smell alone begins to wake me up and get my mind working. My wife, who does not like coffee at all, still loves the smell of it. It is simply one of life’s joys for me.

As I was reading the chapter from Exodus this morning , I couldn’t help but think about the wonders of the aroma of coffee. This morning the instructions for the tabernacle continued and within those were instructions for incense. I remember the powerful incense smell from growing up in the Catholic church. We used it quite a bit it seemed.

I always wondered what the point was until I began to dive into the scriptures as an adult. It was at that point that I began to see how it was referenced in the bible. The idea of the pleasing aroma of a sacrifice would please God. The more you continue to read though you notice something different.

God’s favorite aroma is not the aroma of a burnt offering or incense but instead it is the smell of God’s children loving each other. So what does that look like, I think in light of a lot of what is going on in the world perhaps it is time to review.

God is pleased :

When we listen to each other and really attempt to hear each other. 

When we take time to consider how our actions will impact another.

When we sacrifice our “rights” for someone else’s well-being. 

When we show that real power is not found in muscle or might but in love and sacrifice. 

When we care for those who are on the fringes.

When we stand up to those who harm or discount others. 

This is just the beginning of a list. What would your list look like? Let me know

Leave a Reply

