Have fun – it’s ok

celebrate

Exodus Reading Challenge Day 15

I am sitting on the back screened in patio looking out at what looks like the beginning of a beautiful morning in Florida. I arrived last night as I continue a study leave. when I arrived, I visited with my parents for a little bit before opening up the first book I had planned on reading while away. My plan was to read for awhile and then go to bed. However, one I started reading I decided to read half of it and then finish the other half this morning before I went on to the next thing on my list. I ended up not going to bed until I finished the book.

I woke up this morning and one of my first thoughts were, what’s next? I wondered if I should outline some thoughts from the book for future sermons or dive into another book or was there something else that could kickstart the day. I was given divine guidance from my beautiful wife who texted me and reminded me to take time for myself. It is funny when I think of it because in many ways this time away is being described as MY study leave and MY sabbatical and MY vacation, yet there is so much more to it than that.

My goal is to work on up to a year worth of sermon plans and to attend a couple of conferences and read a few books. These are things to strengthen the ministry that I have been called. Yet, I also want to reestablish good healthy habits as far as eating and exercise. I also want to rekindle my devotional life. It is a mighty list and the time is ticking. Yet, my wife’s text rings true. Time for myself. Time perhaps to celebrate.

In today’s reading , the Israelites stop and celebrate! I almost always forget that part of the Exodus story. They make it to the other side and stop and sing and dance. They have a long way to go and a lot of problems facing them yet they still found time to celebrate and give thanks to God.  Celebration was singing and dancing for them, I am not sure what it is for you but take time to do it!

Give thanks to God for he is good, his mercy endures forever and after that take sometime for you and take a deep breath and enjoy life!

It’s okay to do it the other stuff is going to wait.

Leave a Reply

