C’mon now

angry

Exodus Reading Challenge Day 11

It has happened to me as a parent, employee, and friend. Every once in awhile I will stop and review all that has happened and wondered how we have gotten where we are. Despite repeated warnings and admonishments, sometimes people just don’t get it. They see it right in front of themselves and it does not change anything. They are made aware of trouble or problems and it doesn’t seem to change anything.

This morning, reading this very short chapter, I was struck by the way in which Moses left the Pharaoh’s presence. He left “in great anger”. I didn’t understand at first but then I remembered. I remembered how many times we had read about him face to face with this man. I remembered how many times that he had been warned. I remembered how many times that he had seen the power of God. Yet, it wasn’t enough to change his ways and change his mind. The Pharaoh was stubborn, prideful, and dangerous.

My reaction was simple:

“C’mon now”

What else do you need to see?

What else do you need to experience?

What else are you willing to risk?

Of course, as I sit here this morning I wonder how many times God has had those same questions for me.

“C’mon now”

What else do you need to see?

What else do you need to experience?

What else are you willing to risk?

How about you?

What is God saying to you?

 

Leave a Reply

