A Powerful answer

 

snowshovel

Exodus Reading Challenge Day 5

If you are like me perhaps you spent a portion of today shoveling snow. I tried to find the perfect time to do it. If i went out to early then I would just end up going back out several more times during the day. On the other hand, if I waited to long then the snow accumulation would be too heavy. It was a delicate dance all morning until I finally decided to go outside early in the afternoon and work on the driveway.

By the time that I was finished, I turned around and the snow had already covered most of what I had done. I was tired, wet, and cold and at that point I was done. In the house I went and I have not been back out there again. I know what is out there waiting but I just don’t care at this point. I did what I thought was the right thing and it accomplished nothing.

Perhaps that is how Moses and Aaron were feeling in today’s reading. They had followed God’s direction and had gone to pharaoh who did not respond how they had hoped he would. In fact, he made the Israelite’s daily job even harder by withholding a key resource. The Israelite people responded by blaming Aaron and Moses.

Have you ever felt like it doesn’t matter if you do the right thing or not?  Does it ever seem to you that no matter what you do people aren’t going to be happy? So what do you do?

Perhaps in today’s reading we find an answer..prayer. When in doubt pray, lay it at God’s feet. Moses was attacked by the people and turned it back towards God. He could have yelled back at the people. He could have pointed fingers . He could have done lots of things and instead he prayed.

Prayer..a simple but powerful answer.

Leave a Reply

