In the Silence of Wednesday…Hope

silence

Holy Week Reflection on Psalm 46:10-11

I remember going outside the day after Hurricane Irene hit parts of New Jersey in 2011. I went outside and that is when I first noticed it. it was overwhelming. It was silence. The night before there was howling wind and pounding rain. Trees had fallen against the house and all through the yard. Yet, in the morning there was silence and there was hope.

He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;
    I will be exalted among the nations,
    I will be exalted in the earth.”

I thought a lot about that day this morning. Yesterday was noisy. I woke up to the noise of another terrorist attack in the world. The day was filled with plenty of noise of preparation and busy activity. As I went to bed there was more noise from the election and candidates attacking each other.

This morning there is a stillness and a silence that I find refreshing. Today is what is known as Silent Wednesday. This is the day from Holy Week where nothing is recorded about what was going on in the life of Jesus. We go from lots of teaching and confrontation to silence. It can be a little unsettling if we let it be. Yet, in this silence I find hope.

It is a hope based on the reading from Psalm 36 today. It is understanding that God is still God and is still active even in the midst of the silence. Just because we may not see it does not mean God is not working. In Bethany that day, Jesus may have been preparing his disciples for all that was to come. Reassuring them and praying with them.

So enjoy the silence with me this morning. It will end soon enough. But before it does take some time with God. Pray. Rejoice. Worship. Because:

11 The Lord Almighty is with us;
    the God of Jacob is our fortress.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

