Thoughts on Charlotte Elizabeth Diana, Brian Moore, and us

brian moore

Today’s Scripture

Genesis 1:27 (NIV) So God created mankind in his own image, in the image of God he created them, male and female he created them.

She is so beautiful, there is no doubt. Just looking at her face, we are reminded of the potential and hope that is present in each person. The birth of any baby, let alone the royal baby, reminds us all of the power and potential of life. There is an overwhelming sense of excitement when we look at a newborn face.

     Then there is Brian Moore, a 25-year-old police officer from New York. When I look at his face, I see the same hope and potential. I see the same promise and the same joy. Yet, for Brian Moore that hope can no longer be lived out. For in Brian Moore’s face, we are brutally reminded of the fragility of life as well.

I was reminded on Sunday when I spoke about these two people who sometimes the news can be so overwhelming. Miki told me that we can feel helpless because there is nothing that we can do. So we do focus on the baby. It is a happy time and a joyful thing to celebrate even if it is with people we do not know.

I agree with her. Yet, as I read that passage above from the book of Genesis, I can’t help but wonder what has happened. How do we go from us being created in the image of God to the world we live in? How do we go from sharing attributed with the almighty to a disposable society where all life isn’t valued?

I am sitting out on m deck this morning and enjoying a time of devotion. Each morning, when I am able to do this, I feel a sense of joy and purpose. Joy that God had provided so much and loves us all so much. The purpose comes from a sense of responsibility to share that joy with the world. All the world. Even the folks, I don’t like. Even Princess Charlotte and even the person who took the life of Brian Moore way too soon.

My purpose is being a storyteller for God…

What is your purpose?

Leave a Reply

