Spiritual Weakness Inventory

strong

Today’s Reading  2 Corinthians 12:9-10

but he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power[a] is made perfect in weakness.” So, I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me. 10 Therefore I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities for the sake of Christ; for whenever I am weak, then I am strong. 

We visited with a friend last night. Her husband, our good friend, died in December. It was good catching up with her and her family. It was a wonderful feeling to share some memories and to look forward to life ahead. I have been thinking a lot about my friend who died recently so this was good therapy for me. It was a short visit but a good visit.

I was reminded of a time when my friend asked me to run a Spiritual Gifts workshop for his church many years ago. It was a day long retreat and he wanted me to present and walk the church through what Spiritual gifts are and how we determine them and what we can do about them. I remember how I panicked as I prepared for that day. I had not done any of this type of leading outside my local church since I went into ministry. The day went well and I think I was able to add some value for the folks gathered.

Recently, I heard Len Sweet talk about Spiritual Gifts inventory and he was suggesting it might be time to rethink the whole process. Once we identify a gift given to us, it is ours. We can then “boast” on how we have used it or the difference that it has made for us or someone else. We can focus the attention on us instead of the provider of the gift.

Len suggested we develop a Spiritual Weakness inventory. We then focus in on those things we are weakest at and allow the power of the Holy Spirit to work in us and to make those weaknesses strengths. There would be no doubt at that point where the real power comes from. I love that thought.

For me, that is exactly what Paul is talking about in today’s verse. God has provided everything that we need. If we turn it all over to God, we can see amazing things. Our weaknesses can be used to glorify God even more. Trust God.

I love this. I really do. So about that Spiritual Weakness inventory…What would that look like?   What say you?

Peace.

Leave a Reply

