Come see the Show!

munchkins

####advertisement – If you are in the Area.. Today at 1 pm and again at 7 pm Clayton High School will be performing “Wizard of Oz”. you don’t want to miss it.

Today’s Reading Jude 1– Revelation 17:18

Tonight, if all goes well, we will be going to see a local High School production of the “Wizard of Oz”. The Wizard of Oz is a great story but it is one I remember watching as a little child. Every year when it came on TV, I was excited and afraid. I was excited to see my “friends’ once again. I was afraid because I knew the flying monkeys and the wicked witch were coming.

I couldn’t take my eyes away from the screen, I would smile as we met the munchkins yet again and sing the songs. Yet, I knew that this joy was going to end soon because of that blasted witch and her flying monkeys. No matter what I kept watching. I couldn’t take my eyes off the screen.

Why would I put myself through that as a child? Why would I stick through even when things didn’t look so good? It is because I knew the end of the story. I knew, like Dorothy would learn, that there is no place like home! The good guys were going to win. I didn’t want to miss that.

I haven’t read through the Book of Revelation as many times as I have rad other parts of the bible. It is not my “favorite” book, Yet, as I was reading it today all I could think about was the Wizard of Oz. There is a lot of bad things happening in the book. There are things seemingly much worse than flying monkeys and wicked witches. Yet, I still kept reading. Why?

In part, because I am DETERMINED to finish what I started on January 1st (who is with me?). However, the most important reason is that I do know the end of the story and so do you. It is a story of newness and majesty. It is a story of community and relationship. It is a story of love and forgiveness. It is a story of forever. It is the story of us…and God together.

There is in fact no place like home…and that home is with God.

Now that is a happy ending.

Leave a Reply

