Stay away from it

save_the_drama_for_your_llama_mug

Today’s Reading 1 Thessalonians 1:1  – Philemon 25

Some people thrive in the chaos. I am not one of them. Some people are fed by turmoil and upheaval in their lives. I am not one of them. The world is made up of many different types of people. I would venture a guess that many of those types reside on your Facebook timeline. Go ahead, take a look, I’ll wait.

Paul’s writings in scripture are filled with warnings to stay away from certain behavior. These behaviors will steal time from you, time that should be directed towards God. Paul’s warnings have been white noise for me recently, until today. Today, as I read I was struck by his call to give someone who cause controversy/trouble a chance but if they continue that behavior to distance yourself from them. Today, this struck home.

How much time is wasted dealing with trouble that is created and perpetuated by a single person and their negativity? How much time is spent dealing with drama that has been created by someone else’s bad choices or attitude? What is the cost for me to spend time in those situations with people like that?

I go to the gym several times a week because I want to do what I can to get fit and stay healthy. If I care about my physical health that much shouldn’t I be just as concerned with my mental and spiritual health? I have to be better. I need to make space.

Paul’s writings to Timothy were in part a reminder to Timothy of who he was and what he was called to do. It was a reminder that God had a plan for Timothy and that he needed to focus on the plan and not be sucked into other people’s stuff. I believe God has a plan for me as well. I need to be faithful to that plan and stay away from the drama.

My prayer this morning is that I can move in that direction. My prayer this morning for you is that if you are dealing with these same issues you can move towards that as well.

Leave a Reply

