It always comes back to Clowns

clown

Today’s Reading Acts 28:17  – Romans 14:23

Over the last 3 years, I have spent a lot of time thinking about clowns. I have spent a lot of time dreaming about clowns. I have spent a lot of time planning for clowns. The interesting thing for me has become as much as I may want to move in a different direction. it always comes back to clowns.

For me, C.L.O.W.N. (Creatively Loving Our Wonderful Neighbors) has become a powerful way to explain and live out the Big 2. You know the Big 2; Love God, Love others. It has been a way to try to create an environment where people can feel safe. Safe to share. Safe to laugh. Safe to be themselves. It is about creating relationship and community. It is about understanding that God loves us and has claimed us as his own.

Reading the passage from today in Romans, it reminded me of that again. It was Paul’s passionate pronouncement that NOTHING can separate us from the love of God. HE writes that he is convinced. I love that. I need to hear that and ask myself am I convinced? Do I live like I am convinced?

The sad reality for many that I have spent time with in my life is that they aren’t convinced. The church and society have done such a good job of making them feel “less than”. We need to change that. I need to change that. you need to change that. Everyone matters. Everyone counts. Everyone is loved. No one is alone. These are simple statements but they are also absolute truths in the eyes of the Truth.

So back to clowns I go. Praying for a plan. Praying for a vision. Praying for a possibility to help make a difference. Looking for ways to help create authentic Easter community. Will you join me in this prayer?

Leave a Reply

