What’s New?

New

Today’s Reading   Zechariah 11:1 – Matthew 4:25

God is always up to something. The question for us becomes do we want to join in on what God is doing? As we begin the reading in the gospel of Matthew we see what Jesus is up to. Jesus is teaching, preaching, and healing. Jesus is bringing the gospel to the people.

Today’s reading is an invitation. Jesus’ ministry is about going to the people and meeting them where they are. This ministry is one that needs  co-laborers. the invitation for us is to join in the fun and join in the ministry. Where there is need, there is where we are called to be.

It can be overwhelming. It can be frustrating. There is so much need. So many things to do. So many good causes and great ways to help. What is the right thing to involved yourself in? Sometimes it is important to start at the beginning. The following is a prayer that helps remind us it is all about Christ, an invitation to and an acknowledgement of Christ.

Christ Be With MeChrist with me, Christ before me, Christ behind me,
Christ in me, Christ beneath me, Christ above me,
Christ on my right, Christ on my left,
Christ where I lie, Christ where I sit, Christ where I arise,
Christ in the heart of everyone who thinks of me,
Christ in the mouth of every one who speaks to me,
Christ in every eye that sees me,
Christ in every ear that hears me.
Salvation is of the Lord.
Salvation is of the Christ.
May your salvation, Lord, be ever with us.

St. Patrick

 Let these words from St. Patrick many years ago be your words today.
Leave a Reply

