Just what I needed

coffee

Today’s Reading  Ezekiel 36:1 – Ezekiel 47:12

I am heading out the door in just a few minutes. It is a little earlier than I usually am out an about.  However, I am on my way to a conference gathering with other clergy. I woke up early so I could make a few green smoothies for my wife and I for the day. A little health jump-start for us as we continue to try to get and stay healthy and fit. A green smoothie is not what I feel as if I need this morning in reality.

What a feel as if I need is a bottomless cup of coffee. You know the ones I mean. You slide into a booth at a diner and the waitress who has been working there for decades says, “Coffee?”. There would be very few things right now that would sound so good. The pot she would bring over would be fresh and hot and would remain so for each and every cup that I would drink. What a feeling that would be this morning.

I think perhaps that is much the same feeling that Ezekiel feels as he sees in a vision the River of Healing in the scripture passage this morning. He sees an endless supply of water that starts as a trickle but deepens and widens as it goes. He is told that this water restores and provides life. What a feeling that must have been for him. He saw the source of the river, the Temple, and knew God was there.

Whatever you want to call it, the river of life, living water, or abundant life, God provides it. The God Ezekiel knows and that we know will continue to provide for the people. Our role is to get into the river, taste the living water, accept the abundant life and enjoy.

Are you enjoying the life God has provided? Are you able to feel the healing of the river and the life in the water? Is it changing you?

Leave a Reply

