What feeds you?

fruit

Today’s Reading Lamentations 2:1 – Ezekiel 12:20

I am up a little early for a Saturday morning. I have a busy day ahead of me and we are going to start the day off with a trip to the gym. The weather has not been very cooperative in giving us opportunity to walk outside. In addition. this old body needs some major tuning up. So off to the gym we are going.

In preparation for us going back to the gym, I had to be more aware of what I was buying at the grocery store yesterday as I was food shopping. Nothing major, but more apples and less Oreos! It was a sad trip pushing the cart past Oreos, Chips Ahoy, and Nutter Butters. However, in the end I realize it would be counter productive to feed my body an excess of junk if I was going to the gym to try to get fit.

I think we all understand that process. Sometimes we follow it but sometimes we don’t. I think the struggle is with what ELSE are we feeding ourselves. In today’s reading there is power imagery during Ezekiel’s prophesy. The one thing that stuck with me is Ezekiel being told to eat the scroll containing the word of God. It was a strong reminder for me.

We need to spend a lot of time with God, not just try to fit God in on Sundays or as we are falling asleep. Read the Bible, Pray, Fellowship, Worship,  and Serve are all ways we can do just that. Look at that list again. How long has it been since you have done one of those things? What can you do today to change that? Who can hold you accountable? What will that look like once you get it done?

What is feeding you today?

Leave a Reply

