Sammy Hagar is singing the soundtrack of our lives

55

Today’s Reading Jeremiah 10:14  – Jeremiah 23:8

One foot on the brake and one on the gas, hey
Well, there’s too much traffic, I can’t pass, no
So I tried my best illegal move
A big black and white come and crushed my groove again

Growing up as a young man these lyrics were ingrained in me. Sammy Hagar was singing for ME. He had my thoughts and my desires and he put them over the radio waves for me. This song spoke not only for me but to me. I didn’t want to be confined by rules and limits. I was a man. I was free. I was independent.

Write me up for 125
Post my face, wanted dead or alive
Take my license, all that jive
I can’t drive 55, oh yeah

Even now, reading these lyrics and singing the song once again in my head, I almost feel a pang for the old days. No commitment, no fear, no worry, and no concerns. Or perhaps that feeling is heartburn from last night’s dinner? See that makes more sense, especially in light of today’s readings.

Reading through Jeremiah this morning was a reminder. A reminder that there are repercussions for decisions that we make. There are consequences and sometimes they can be severe. Sammy Hagar spoke to a generation and for a generation that thought they were being ignored and stifled by the world. Jeremiah is the instrument that God choose to speak to a world about God being ignored.

Jeremiah’s words remind us that we are not lone wolves. We are part of a larger community. Everyone matters and everyone is impacted by our decisions. When we ignore those in need, God notices. When we turn our backs on those on the margins, God weeps. When we worship at the gods of money, power, and prestige God sees that and angers,

So on this 55th day of reading (see what I did there), we are reminded that we are not alone. God is holding us accountable. We are strongest when we are faithful to God and connected to our brothers and sisters.

Do you value freedom more than people? Do you value independence more than the “other”?

What is God saying to you this morning?

Leave a Reply

