There is time right?

repentance_724_482_80

Today’s Reading Isaiah 14:1 – Isaiah 28:29

Resolutions are seemingly part of life:

“I resolve to get in shape”

“I resolve to eat better”

“I resolve to pray more”

“I resolve to be a better dad”

“I resolve to be a better husband”

“I resolve to be a better friend”

“I resolve to be a better disciple”

These are some of the resolutions that have passed my lips in days, weeks, and months passed. Every single one of these I meant when I said it. I tried to honor those resolutions. In many cases, I failed time and time again. Failure seems inevitable in many ways.

However, what I have noticed is that over time the feeling of failure dissipates. There will always be a tomorrow. There will always be time to get fit. There will always be time to be better. There will always be time to get right. Until there isn’t.

The words in Isaiah today speak to a people who were lost. Many of them lost forever. They had made decisions that had directed their days. Many of those decisions were ones that were counter to God’s design. The people suffered the repercussions of those choices. I believe many of those people at some point probably made their own resolutions. However, like many of us they probably thought there was time to get back on track. Until there wasn’t.

We have entered the time of Lent. A time of change. A time of repentance. A time of new beginnings. The thing is change, repentance, and new beginnings need to start at some point. There won’t always be a tomorrow.

So let’s start today

Leave a Reply

