Behind every corner

Last night we went to “Terror behind the Walls” at the Eastern State Penitentiary. For those that do not know it is a “Haunted House” behind the walls of the closed down prison. I am not much of a Haunted house fan so I went begrudgingly. There were six of us who went. I was the last one in our group so as we turned each dark corner I had an advantage. I got to see what the others were experiencing ahead of me and I could also keep an eye out for things coming from behind us.

Watching the others flail around and scream prepared me for whatever might be in front of us. I think we often discount those that have gone before us. If we are wise we would use their experience both positive and negative to help aid us in our journey. I have learned a lot in the last 10 years of ministry about the value of experience.

The key is to be able to identify what experience is good and what is bad. I also believe that it is vital for us not to be slaves to the past. I choose on many occasions last night to take a different path than those that went before me because I could see where the trouble was.

As a church, and a society, we tend to fall into two groups; the first are those that are slaves to the past and the second are those that totally disregard the past.

I would suggest that we be people of a Third Way. The way where we look at and understand our past and use it as a tool to help chart our journey. In this way we are neither solely dependent on the past nor will we be totally dismissive of it either.

There is adventure around every corner, how will you approach it today?

 

 

Leave a Reply

