Fear is a Bully

I sit here today in my office reviewing where we have gone over the last couple of months and where I think we are headed. I see so many exciting things happening and am thankful every day for the opportunities that I have been given. As I sit here marveling at what God has done, I also find myself dealing with that old nemesis of mine….fear..

Fear has been something I have dealt with and struggled against a lot in my life it seems. Fear is the thing that I hear in my head often..and it always seems to start with.. “Larry, are you sure…”

 

“Are you sure you are the man for the job?”

“Are you sure you really want to try that?”

“Are you sure they will listen?”

“Are you sure God wants that?”

 

The questions change but the voice stays the same..it is the voice of a bully.  When the bully presents itself I must recognize and react.

I read this quote today

When a resolute young fellow steps up to the great bully, the world, and takes him boldly by the beard, he is often surprised to find it comes off in his hand, and that it was only tied on to scare away the timid adventurers.
Ralph Waldo Emerson

It struck me as a word I needed to hear and the church needs to hear. So often we act as if we are afraid in the church..afraid of society, afraid of young people, afraid of change…. We let that fear bully us into doing nothing.

If we should be fearful of anything I would suggest it would be the fear of just that.. doing nothing!

The world needs to hear a good word. The world is in need of hope. The world is in need of love. The world is in need of peace. The world is in need of revolution.  The world is in need of Truth. I know of only one place for the world to get these things. The way is Jesus. We need to show Jesus to the world.

We need to go out there and “take care of the widows and orphans” to use OT language or “care for the least of these” to use NT language or “change the world” to use Mike Slaughter language.

When we do those things, fear loses. When we live a life of abundance or shalom, fear retreats.

Let’s move beyond fear.

Let fear be a bully, no more.

 

Leave a Reply

