I Love you this much

 

 

 

 

Football season started last night, the Eagles start on Sunday. I love  the Philadelphia Eagles

Baseball season is heading into playoff season. The Phillies are missing the playoffs. I love the Phillies.

Someone mentioned peanut butter cookies to me today. I love peanut butter cookies.

My youngest son started his senior year of High School today. I love my youngest son.

My oldest son is moving Saturday. I love my oldest son.

My wife works way too hard. I love Ginny.

Jesus died on the cross for us. I love Jesus.

Love is a funny word. This one little four letter word has so many uses in our lexicon. I remember in seminary learning about the Greek words for love. A different word to fit each situation or type of love. It made sense to me because honestly I mean all those sentences in the beginning but I am embarrassed using the same word to describe my feeling for peanut butter cookies and for Ginny let alone my feelings about Jesus.

Words are funny after all.  They are just sounds put together that represent something. At the end of the day I suppose I could describe my feelings about my wife or cookies with any set of sounds what really matters are my actions. How do I treat the people I claim to love? How do I treat Jesus and how do I live my life for Jesus?

As a preacher this might be a silly thing to say but I want to be remembered for my actions way more than my words. I want people top think of me as someone who cares and is trying to make the world a better place. I want my wife to know how I feel about her by my actions more than my words.

 

I need to do better than I have but I am trying.  So today I look around and recommit myself to God and the people in my life to show you how much I love you. I recommit myself to bringing the light of God with me to a world that so desperately needs it.

With Agápe

Larry 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

