Job Well Done

So last night as we settled into our new house in Glassboro we needed to heat up dinner. So my first attempt was to use a microwave until I realized that there was no microwave. No problem, I went to use the oven. As I went to turn the oven on I realized that the numbers on the knob to turn on the oven and set the temperature were almost completely worn away. Ginny and I looked at the numbers that were left and tried to decipher them the best that we could. It was not easy at all.

This oven has been used and used a lot over the years. It is about worn out it has lived out its life and we can honestly say it has done its job well indeed. In the age in which we live in it is a good thing to see a piece of equipment that has withstood the test of time and is getting close to ending its time. In the meantime we can use it and figure out ways to overcome the obstacles that the invisible numbers create for us.

As I begin my time at First UMC in Glassboro, my goal is to be like the oven in my house. Be as useful as possible for as long as possible. I want to do Kingdom work with my family and church until I too am “worn out” to do anymore.

The next part of the journey has begun and I can’t wait to see where God is going to lead us.

Now about that dial….

One thought on “Job Well Done

  1. Get an oven thermometer until you can get a new Caloric
    My Aunt won an oven with a ditty she submitted about an appliance store in Vineland, They don’t have contests like that anymore I think it went something like this

    There once was a man from Nantucket……

Leave a Reply

