The Future is so bright….you know the rest

I have always been a sucker for shows like VH1’s “One Hit Wonders”. It was a show that talked about the songs that we all know so well and we really don’t know why. They are songs that many in my generation heard so many times growing up in the 80’s that they have become ingrained in us. Yet the artists never flourished. One such song is Timbuk 3’s “The Future’s so bright, I gotta wear shades”. This song became  a graduation anthem for many as what was perceived as positive lyrics were latched on to. The reality though was quite different, the song was really written about a grim future a future that perhaps seemed so bright because of the “impending Nuclear holocaust”.  Such a quaint little song huh?

The reality is songs are often open to interpretation just like life. It is how we take what we have been given be that lyrics or situations in our life that give them real meaning. So the question becomes what will we do with what God has given us?

I stood before Annual Conference last Thursday evening and received my appointment letter to 1st UMC in Glassboro. It has been an interesting journey and is now one step closer to becoming a reality for my family and I. Today as I left my house the painters were busy getting the parsonage ready for the new pastoral family’s arrival. Each day brings us closer and closer to starting a new journey in my ministry. We are looking forward to the challenges and ministry opportunities that lie ahead. At the same time we can’t help but feel sadness as this part of the journey comes to an end.

Of course, we know that this is part of the Methodist calling and so I “set my eyes” toward Glassboro. I go with my eyes set on a church that is active in the community around them. We go knowing that a special group of youth and youth leaders are preparing for a short-term mission trip to make a difference in a community. We go knowing that there is a passion and energy to reach the “marginalized” for Jesus. We go also knowing that Rowan University and all the possibilities that hold is just one block away.

Every appointment, every ministry, every meeting, every sermon, every bible study has led us to this point. So as we go we go filled with the Holy Spirit knowing that all that happens will be because of grace, love, and power that comes from God and God alone.

So I choose to look at the situation as a very positive thing. God has blessed my family and I in so many ways. We have met so many great people and be in ministry with so many great folks that I wouldn’t want to change a thing. Today I sit just a few weeks away from starting a new chapter and I gotta tell you, to me…..

“The future’s so bright..I gotta wear shades”

Leave a Reply

