Just Say No

Image“Just Say No” was how Nancy Reagan answered in 1982 when asked by a child how she should respond if she was offered drugs.  The “Just Say No” campaign was so launched. Perhaps its effectiveness can be questioned and perhaps it may be viewed as too simplistic in its approach. I would suggest that it is time to reclaim that phrase once again.

While the “War Drugs” still rages on in one form or another I am not talking about using the phrase for that battle. I believe we need to use that phrase in a new battle. A battle against time. I want us to conduct a little exercise for a moment. Take a few minutes and think about the last 24 hours of your life. What have you been able to accomplish? What still remains undone? If you could fill up your next 24 hours in anyway that you wanted to what would the day look like?

We all have plans or ideas or dreams. Certain things that we think would make us happier and healthier if only we could find the time. I know that for myself I have three things that I always wish I had more time to do. I wish I had more time for my Spiritual Disciplines and I also wish I had more time to spend with my family. In addition I wish there was more time in my day to exercise. 

I am certain that you all have your own list. What is on the list is not what is important. What is important is the things that are stopping us from fulfilling those wishes. The main thing..TIME! We need more of it…or do we?

Perhaps we are going about this all wrong. I think we need to readjust how we view our days. the truth is we all have time..every day..24 hours of it… What we do with it in large part is determined by our choices. I know that we all have certain things that we “have” to do. I get it, I really do. I think the problem is we put way too many things in that “have to” column than ought to be there. 

So I say we take up the Nancy Reagan pledge once again. We need to learn to “Just Say No” again. When we learn to say no to certain things we will be amazed at how much time we finally have in our schedule. So let’s put together a couple of lists shall we. 

First List are those things that we need to REGULARLY say no to

Just Say No

  1. Envy
  2. Gossip
  3. Too Much TV
  4. Unnecessary meetings
  5. meetings that run on too long
  6. Too many Drive Thru dinners
  7. Too much “Facebook” time
  8. Regret
  9. Worry
  10. Late night snacking

Now let’s work on that other list

Just Say Yes

  1. Time with God (Bible, Prayer, Worship, Service, Fellowship)
  2. Time with Family
  3. Time with Friends
  4. Eating right
  5. Exercise

It is all about choices. See if we choose to start with “Just Say No” to things like envy and greed we will be amazed at how much time that frees up. Just think about how much time we waste worrying about things and people, time that we simply can’t back.

When we start saying no to this things it frees up lots of time, time to spend on those things that really are important.

So join me today… Make this day the day when we start to “Just Say No”

Leave a Reply

